In 1960, all fifty states outlawed sodomy. Although states began repealing those laws in the 1970s, either through wholescale penal code reform or through court challenges, the Supreme Court denied that sodomy bans were unconstitutional under the U.S. Constitution in 1986 (Bowers v. Hardwick). It was only in 2003 that the Supreme Court struck down the remaining states’ sodomy bans as an infringement of the equal protection clause and substantive due process rights (Lawrence v. Texas).

Number of states outlawing sodomy, 1960-2003
Tagged on: